Chapter News

This is a public blog featuring news and announcements concerning Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter.  The content on this page is read-only.  For more information about Theta Epsilon Omega, please e-mail

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   5   Next >  Last >> 
  • 07 May 2010 1:57 PM | Anonymous

    Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter announces the recipients of our 2010 Scholarship Program.  The scholarship recipients will be officially recognized at the chapter's annual Dinner Dance on Saturday, June 5, 2010.  The Dinner Dance is the chapter's largest fundraiser to support its scholarship and community service programs.  For tickets, please e-mail  Please click here for more information about the recipients and our scholarship program.

  • 01 May 2010 12:40 PM | Anonymous

    At the end of her first year as president of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter, Elicia Pegues Spearman was named President of the Year for medium-sized chapters at the sorority's 79th annual North Atlantic Regional Conference held in Maryland in April 2010.  Not only has Attorney Pegues Spearman initiated several new chapter programs and activities, but her strategic vision for the chapter has turned into an action plan for sustainability and efficiency. 

  • 29 Mar 2010 7:33 PM | Anonymous

    Members of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter attended the sorority's 79th annual North Atlantic Regional Conference in March of 2010 in National Harbor, Maryland.  Here are some highlights from the conference:

    • Jonnie Lewis-Thorpe, Joan Jenkins-Stewart, and Brenda Thomas were crowned Silver Stars.  Silver Stars distinction is earned after 25 years of membership in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
    • LaVerne Solomon was crowned a Golden Soror, a distinction given for 50 years of membership in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
    • Elicia Pegues Spearman was awarded President of the Year for medium-sized chapters.
    • Elicia Pegues Spearman was appointed member of the International Standards Committee. 
  • 18 Jan 2010 9:04 PM | Anonymous

    Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter commemorated its 45th Anniversary and Founders’ Day during an exquisite afternoon brunch at Amarante’s Sea Cliff Inn on January 17, 2010.  Attendees celebrated Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter’s enduring dedication to the Greater New Haven community.  President, Elicia Pegues Spearman, recounted that, through the years, the members of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter have provided numerous four-year college scholarships, spent countless hours mentoring New Haven youth and sponsored a myriad of seminars to empower and educate the New Haven community on issues involving healthy living, financial independence and community engagement.  Charter members Jean Downing, Agnes Timpson and Gladys Whitney participated in the celebration, adding an extra special touch.  During the festivities, members enjoyed a slideshow presentation of past and current chapter presidents highlighting key achievements during their respective terms of office and capturing reflections by the charter members.  Mistress of ceremonies, Shawna Woodard, shared a new Theta Epsilon Omega history tidbit, Cheryl Pegues and Elicia Pegues Spearman are the first mother and daughter duo to serve as former and current president for the Chapter.  The Chapter was also honored to have North Atlantic Region Membership Committee Chairman, Connie Pizzaro, who delivered remarks during the Chapter’s recognition of Founders’ Day.  Ms. Pizzaro shared her own reflections on the importance and value of our special sisterhood.  Dori Dumas and Brenda Thomas chaired this memorable event, assisted by their dedicated committee.


    This article was published in the Ivy Leaf magazine, Summer 2010 Edition.

  • 14 Jan 2010 2:50 PM | Anonymous

    Theta Epsilon Omega announced its partnership with the Greater New Haven Branch of the NAACP to raise $10,000 for the NAACP Haitian Relief Fund.  Click here to find out how you can make a tax-exempt donation to this worthy cause. 

  • 11 Nov 2009 9:09 PM | Anonymous

    On October 31, 2009, Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter, in collaboration with the Breast Cancer Network of Strength hosted, “A Day For You” Breast Health Awareness Fair.  Theta Epsilon Omega welcomed this collaboration and is committed to educating the community in an effort to eradicate health care disparities.  During this breast health awareness fair, participants learned earlier detection methods for breast cancer and how to practice breast self-examinations.  Participants also received referrals for a free mammogram at local mammography facilities.  The National Kidney Foundation and the American Heart Association also provided screening services.  Those attending the event had the opportunity to meet with a variety of vendors, including the Yale New Haven Hospital Breast and Cervical Cancer Program and the Breast Cancer Network of Strength.  An exercise demonstration presented by Theta Epsilon Omega member Cathy Patton, a Certified Personal Trainer, educated participants on ways to incorporate exercise routines into their daily schedules.  Dr. Andrea Silber, a leading oncologist in the New Haven area and an advocate of cancer awareness in under-served communities, addressed a variety of topics concerning breast health.  A panel discussion was also presented by members of local area cancer support groups.  The event was concluded with a group meditation demonstration by Dr. Jeanne Fuqua a naturopathic doctor.  The “A Day For You” event was a huge success and provided all who attended with information and tips to promote a healthier lifestyle.

  • 30 Apr 2009 4:49 AM | Anonymous
    Elicia Pegues Spearman, Melcena Jackson and Jacquelyn Wilson are crowned Silver Stars at the sorority's 78th Annual North Atlantic Regional Conference in New York City.  Silver Stars are members who have 25 years of membership and service in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated.
  • 30 Apr 2009 4:47 AM | Anonymous
    Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter's immediate past president, Doris Dumas, won President of the Year at the sorority's 78th North Atlantic Regional Conference in April 2009.  Ms. Dumas served as the chapter's president from 2005-2008.  Under her leadership, the chapter won several distinctions including 1st place Chapter of the Year (Medium-size Chapter).
  • 30 Apr 2009 4:44 AM | Anonymous
    Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter wins second place, chapter of the year (medium-sized chapter); 3 Heart Beats for membership reclamation and retention; and the 2008 Exemplary Chapter Award for its political action and policy outreach programs at the 78th Annual North Atlantic Regional Conference in New York City.
<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   5   Next >  Last >> 

Copyright © 2020, Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter.  All rights reserved.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages.  They are the sole property and responsibility of Theta Epsilon Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.       
Privacy Policy  •  Site Map  •  Browser Compatibility   Contact Webmaster 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
Share |